fbpx
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 43 total)
  • Author
    dancogan
    Spectator

I almost gave up riding. Nearing age 65 and following a couple of surgeries that indicated my days of heavy lifting are over, I talked to may wife about selling the bikes. The 1200RT was too hard to balance with even a light weight passenger on board, and became scary at off camber or hilly stop signs. But instead of giving up my wife insisted we try a Spyder. Rode it to the RA Rally this year. It takes some getting used. There’s no substitute for twisties on 2 wheels. But you’re still out in the fresh air, you smell the fresh cut hay, you feel the temps go down as you go up, and you get wet when it rains. We’re loving it. And I still have an F650GS for when I’m riding alone. David Hough, who rides a Spyder now, started a thread about his Spyder experiences over on the MOA forum and that’s what got me thinking about it. Thank you Mr. Hough!

egnblack
    Spectator

I have been riding for 40+ years. Motorcycling is something that has gotten into my blood. Motorcycling is a part of me. It is my freedom. When I get on my bike, all of my worries and problems go away. I plan to ride as long as the good Lord allows me.

scooterboy
    Spectator

My neighbor four doors down quit riding after he had his left leg amputated below the knee because of an accident he had 15 miles from home three years ago. He was in the hospital for seven months because the doctors didn’t want him to lose his leg. After three skin grafts and four blood infections he lost it anyway. When he came home he weighed 105 lbs. Now he has a prosthetic leg and is doing much better. He is 83 years old.

DOGGETT MARK
    Spectator

I guess you quit riding when you’re uncomfortable for whatever reason you deem fit, to get back on the bike. It’s all personal. No judgments. We had a minor accident a few years ago. I still tense up on exit ramps in the rain. But I still love riding.

moondog
    Spectator