fbpx

f650gs vs r1100gs opinions please

Home Forums General discussion Motorcycle Talk – General Topics f650gs vs r1100gs opinions please

This topic contains 3 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  mstruhs 9 years, 5 months ago.

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author

WREYFORD DONALD
    Participant

I have no knowledge of the F650GS. I do have a good friend who has a earlier 650GS Dakar and he loves it for riding here in the mountians, other than chains and sprockets he has had no problems with it.

About the R1100GS, in my not so humble opinion (maybe because I have a 98:hurray), the R1100GS, especially the later model ones (97-99) are, some of the most reliable and best engines BMW ever built.

My suggestion would be to decide what you are going to do with this machine. For riding locally the 650 (I know there are riders who ride the 650’s all over the world). For both offroading and long trips, the R1100GS. For me (older citizen and over 6′) the big R1100GS is just more comfortable for the longer days. A GS with 55-60,000 miles if it has been well cared for wouldn’t worry me at all.

Just an opinion :-).

ANTON LARGIADER
    Participant

I sure wouldn’t worry about the service life of the 650. For all practical purposes, both bikes have an infinite service life. There are plenty of R1100 bikes running around with 200, 300k miles. I don’t personally know of such cases with the F650 but I never hear of them wearing out, and there are definitely high-mile examples of those also.

I would choose based on what you want to do with the bike, not the expected life. For more than an hour or two on the interstate, the F650 isn’t my cup of tea. But that’s just me; I like boxers.

mstruhs
    Participant